Traffic and housing problems could be solved by moving large companies, factories and their employees to the countryside. Do you agree or disagree?

The fact that metropolitan areas provide plenty of valuable economic opportunities for corporations, and industries to thrive leads to overcrowding in these places. Hence, several issues related to transportation and accommodation arise, which are assumed to be resolved by shifting these companies along with their factories and workers. Although I agree with this view to some extent, I still share the opinion with those who go against this viewpoint due to some reasons. On the one hand, it is understandable why this solution is effective in dealing with movement and housing problems. To begin with, it is the overpopulation in metropolitan spaces that partly results in frequent congestion, especially during peak hours, which certainly exerts adverse impacts on urban residents’ lives and their work productivity. Another benefit is the more people live in cities, the greater the demand for housing. Consequently, it contributes to raising the housing cost owing to the scarcity of accommodation. That is why relocating big companies and their large number of workers to rural regions, which are sparsely populated, can mitigate the density of transport as well as the demand for accommodations in crowded cities. On the other hand, I believe that transferring firms and immigrating their employees to rural settings is not the ultimate solution. In fact, concerns about traffic jams or the high cost of housing are also deprived of urban planning strategies and citizens’ awareness in general. Therefore, if the governments forced regulations for movement stricter, there would be less congestion on the street. What is more, in order to prevent the housing price from raising and resolve the scarcity of accommodation, the authorities should put a heavy tax on any real estate businesses that deliberately try to maximise their profits. In conclusion, as much I admit that the suggestion for relocating industrial zones and encouraging the workers to immigrate to rural areas can deal with traffic and housing issues, I believe that other measures should be taken into consideration to tackle the problems.