Employers sometime ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Submitting job applications and following through with subsequent interviews are essential to landing a job, especially in the competitive society we are in. Occasionally, companies tend to enquire about a candidate’s private information. I personally find it appropriate to do so as it could be advantageous to both parties. However, the following essay will explore different opinions regarding this enquiry. Many individuals claim that there are advantages to companies getting to know their workers on a personal note. For example, knowing an employee’s family status such as having a spouse and kids, may enable an employer to offer incentives, such as a family health insurance plan, in order to attract the desired candidate. In addition, they may organize team bonding events focusing on their employee's fields of interest or hobbies. Undoubtedly, I agree with this. Extra incentives would improve an employee's overall satisfaction with their job. Others, however, might argue that this is an invasion of privacy. Some individuals could be uncomfortable with sharing sensitive information with their boss. This may be due to several reasons, such as a fear of judgment from their respective company. For example, individuals with complicated family situations tend to be weary that an employer would assume that they would not be efficient at their assigned roles. Reservations about sharing private details of one's life are understandable; therefore, companies should handle sensitive information with care and without judgment. To conclude, the above essay discussed how enquiring about a worker’s personal data could be advantageous to the said worker, such as being offered additional incentives. Furthermore, opposing views, including reservations regarding mixing work and personal life together, were also explored. Nevertheless, I find disclosing private details to be a positive development.