Smoking tobacco is becoming increasingly popular among young people, with potentially serious effects on their health. Explain some reasons for this problem and suggest some possible solution

These days, there have being a significant rise in the use of tobacco among the younger generation and it is becoming alarming due to the havoc it has on human health. This essay will explain the reasons for the increase in the use of tobacco and provide likely solutions to curb this attitude. Firstly, the rise in the smoking of tobacco among young people can be due to peer pressure. When young adults go to school their friends might influence them negatively by asking them to try taking tobacco in an attempt to "feel among" they indulge in taking tobacco and later become addicted. For example, a survey was conducted in Ilorin Kwara State on the use of tobacco and it showed that young people had the highest proportion of its use compared to older adults and most of them noted that it was their friends that introduced them to the act in school. Furthermore, what has brought a significant rise in the use of tobacco among young people is because of the increase in crime rate among them, crimes such as internet fraud, pickpockets, car hijacking, and rape are common among these age groups. The health problem associated with the use of tobacco includes increased risk of lung cancer and other forms of cancer, respiratory infection, lungs collapse, low immunity and anorexia that can lead to weight loss. Some possible solutions to curb this problem include, the use of age restrictions for admission into university should be encouraged and children below 18 years should not be granted admission into the university because they are more vulnerable to peer pressure. Secondly, the government should provide more job opportunities for graduates and even vocational opportunities for people that don't have a tertiary education in other to reduce crime rates in society. Furthermore, children should be properly trained by their parents and good morals should be instilled. Religious leaders also can help curb this attitude by telling them what is right. In conclusion, despite the rise in the use of tobacco among younger people, they still remain a very strong source for the workforce in every nation. Therefore, parents, religious leaders and the government have a very significant role to play in ensuring that this age group live a responsible and healthy life.