Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving the neighbour or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree. Give reasons for your answer and Include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that participating in extra programs during high school is beneficial to a lot of students in various aspects such as building good habits and improving their social skills. Therefore, many high schools require their students to volunteer in several activities as a part of the curriculum. From my point of view, I totally agree with this mandatory for many reasons, described in the following paragraphs. To begin with, I strongly believe that education should not be limited to academic skills. Students should gain life skills to live well in society. The most effective way to acquire life skills is to work with other people in a real community. Students will directly experience how to communicate, organize tasks and manage time by themselves. For example, requiring them to teach younger children leads to several life skills since they must alter their communication to suit for younger generation. Additionally, it is also useful in terms of increasing their creativity as they possibly must design new methods in teaching. Besides the acquired life skills, participating in extra programs also makes their resume outstanding compared to those who never do. Currently, many universities require volunteer activities from their candidates, particularly for the interview round. In addition to those aforementioned skills, students will understand themselves better by doing extra activities. For instance, they perhaps express their intention to become a teacher in the future. However, once they experience working as a teacher themselves, they might realize that it is not what they expect. Ultimately, they will not make a better decision with their lives. In conclusion, unpaid community service should be a requirement for high school students prior to graduation since it offers students not only extra skills but also benefits for their future.