In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their product are new in some way. Whay is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is a tendency recently that business owners are using advertisements to over exaggerate on the new features of their products. From my perspective, I believe it is a negative development in general and I will discuss the reason why this has happened and why it is not encouraging. In the age of mass media, it can be observed that many brands, especially, those high-end, celebrities are paid to promote the latest commodities of the brands. Their duties include persuading the public that the newly-launched products are worthier to buy and have more innovative functions compared to their former, while, in fact, the so-called newest usually has quite trivial differences from its previous versions. This is a commercial strategy used by businesses to emphasise their goods through the influence of well-known people and allure customers to consume more out of their trust in their idols. It is definitely a negative trend, for, firstly, this kind of over-emphasized and unhonest ads may result in the increase of far more unnecessary purchases amongst the consumers, particularly among the shopaholics who would want to collect the whole series for the belief that each of them is distinguished. This can further enhance negative shopping habits in society that are considered a a waste of money. In conclusion, the innovation of products is good as well as these characteristics are not boasted through advertisements, and the opposite will certainly leave some negative effects on our society's development.