Public transit (e.g. buses, local trains, metros/subways) play an important role in helping residents and visitors get around large cities Public transit should be free at all times for those who want to use it. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In around big cities, public transit gives an important role to help both residents and locals. This writing will highlight the view of public transit free uses by mentioning the good side and the bad side. On the one hand, complimentary public transportation can give many benefits. First, it will reduce road traffic, therefore the risk of a traffic accident may decrease. Second, if people start to use public transit, it will give economic benefits because of the slightly used of gasoline. Last, free transportation uses will increase people’s health awareness. For example, Japan, a country that has a large number of mass transit users, put many stairs in the hallway. Therefore, Japan become one of a country with a high life expectancy. On the other hand, urban transportation can be misused. Despite taking no cost, some people can not take care of public facilities uses. For instance, in Indonesia, for exact in Jakarta, a city with many public transportations, there was a case of commuters that are not disciplined in entering the bus line. They think that because the facility is free, thus they do not have to pay attention to the rule. In conclusion, how good the facility that government gives, depends on how the locals can maintain the use of those facilities. Based on my opinion, complimentary public transport is very helpful and useful. But, commuters should watch their attitudes or the government can make strict regulations for public transport uses, therefore the public facilities can be well maintained.