Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the influence of advertising on the public’s purchase decisions is inclining, leading to high sales. It is claimed that customers buy goods and services as they are attracted by advertisements rather than requiring them. From my perspective, I can agree to a certain extent because not all people are seduced by endorsement. It is insisted that most companies in this era invest so much money in advertising in order to attain awareness from the public, resulting in high sales volume as the higher the level of awareness, the more enhancement in sales. Due to the commercial power, people embrace the quality of products and services and their willingness to buy them increases. For instance, Apple users are persuaded by commercials to buy new phones whenever the company launches a new model although their current phones still have good performance. Thus, there is a direct proportion between commercials and consumers’ buying decisions. On the other hand, the whole population is not enticed by commercials although they are able to attract the public to gain attention from them. Humans buy upgraded devices because it is undoubtedly certain that the higher the model, the better the performance. As an example, if new model cars can reduce carbon emissions into the atmosphere, it is worth buying. Not surprisingly, upgraded phones can offer more efficient performance and qualified features which can bring easiness to us, contributing to the reasons to purchase them. Despite some appliances becoming well-known through commercials, they are really effective and convenient to apply in our daily activities. These are the reasons why not all goods are purchased due to the persuasive commercials and some of them are essential things for our life. To conclude, while I agree that the power of advertisements can influence consumers’ buying decisions to a certain extent, I would also argue that not everyone in society buys things unnecessarily and good products can assist our life to be smooth and efficient.