Some people believe that history should be taught to children at school. Others however,believe that there are other subjects that are more relevant to children's lives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

History is an essential subject according to several people, while there are others who think more appropriate topics should be taught in schools. Learning about the past may give children ideas about some events that occurred; however in my opinion I agree with the latter statement because new subjects may help youngsters to their success in life. Learning about history as a subject could be a way to gain more experiences which can help students in some situations in their life. For example, knowing about the reasons and how world war I, which was one of the best historical incidents, started and escalated could be helpful to avoid those same mistakes from occurring again. Moreover, as a Sri Lankan citizen, knowing about how foreigners invaded the country can be helpful in the future. Although, I do not think that knowing about the past and gaining experiences from them will be helpful in future because,in this fast-developing,world old ideas and knowledge are becoming outdated. Those on the other side of the argument say that subjects which are more updated to the present world should be prioritised more. There are many new aspects, which are modern and interesting, that children can study. Despite these subjects may visible as straightforward and simple, they could help pupils to be successful in life. To illustrate, subjects like marine biology, network engineering and city development may not seem significant but the reality is much more different than that. Therefore, mastering those types of subjects will bring students to their potential heights, thus I agree with this view since it can brighten the future of students. In conclusion, several people believe subjects which are appropriate to the present should be taught rather than traditional subjects. I agree with this because it will help children to climb the ladder of success rather than gaining experiences which may or may not be useful in day-to-day life.