Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays due to modernization and technological advancement,there are a large number of cutting-edge gadgets such as smartphones which are used by people,especially youngsters who spend most of their daily time on these mobile devices. This essay will explain the reasons for this trend and why I claim that it has a negative impact on children’s life. On the one hand,there are several reasons that persuade children to spend hours on technological devices.The first and foremost reason is that social media is an entertaining environment which makes kids addicted so they spend a noticeable amount of their daily time scrolling through the internet. For instance, my little son spends about 10 hours a day on his tablet, watching video games or his favourite animated cartoons.Another important reason is that parents offer smartphones to their children to occupy their pastimes instead of motivating them to go outside and do physical activities such as football and other aerobic exercises. Therefore, all these reasons contribute to this current phenomenon. On the other hand, this development has negative influences on children. Firstly, this habit leads to addiction as kids are using these modern gadgets from an early age. As a result, they spend excessive hours on their mobile phones so they do not have enough hours for their school assignments and studying their lessons,so their academic grades are dropped dramatically. Consequently, they might lose a myriad of significant chances in the future. Secondly, developing this habit brings many physical and mental negative consequences, namely obesity and social isolation. Moreover, these youngsters lose the opportunity of spending time with their peers,so it has detrimental effects on their communication skills and might lead to missing many valuable professional opportunities in the future. In conclusion,I believe that overusing these modern devices has a bad impact on youngsters. This habit brings them a sedentary lifestyle and consequently their well-being is affected physically and emotionally.