“Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?”

It is true that more and more technology is being used to track people's actions, and many people do not realise that this is happening. Although this development could be beneficial to companies and the government, I personally believe that the drawbacks of this advancement outweigh the advantages due to the probability of detrimental issues that can be caused by monitoring. On the one hand, some people argue that monitoring should be encouraged because it helps the government to guarantee the safety of citizens. For example, CCTV installed on the street could be useful to reduce the incidence of crime such as theft and robbery by monitoring. However, the problem is that this technology is also very fragile to the danger of hacking, so many cyber criminals are occurring these days. In South Korea, for instance, the rate of crimes utilised by monitor technology surged recently, becoming a serious social problem. As this example shows, the improvement of technology exerts a negative influence on society. In addition, unnecessary supervision by using technology would make people uncomfortable. It is a well-known fact that many companies are monitoring their customer behaviours on social network services and smartphones to promote their products to the right targets. This aggressive marketing method by using monitored data has made people exposed to bothersome advertising. Last but not least, there are many privacy issues caused by the technology. For example, due to the evolution of social media citizen's personal information is uploaded to the Internet without their permission. In conclusion, even though the development of technology brought many benefits to our society, on the other hand, it is undeniable that there are many more detrimental effects of this development. Therefore, I firmly believe that much should be done by the government to deal with this danger of technology.