Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Investing in building sophisticated sports facilities is often done by some countries in order to achieve victory in international sports competition. This might cause a problem due to the inadequacy public sports facilities that everyone can use. This essay argues that although it brings national pride, it also has its negative aspects for citizen. It is evident that improvising infrastructure for elite athletes is one of the priority of government's blueprint for winning high prizes such as the Olympics. Besides, this will inspire citizen to exercise more. Having a good reputation for sports also can improve country image for a specific sport, therefore it could boost the national economy through tourism and trading. On the other hand, providing more sports facilities that everyone can access, might encourage people to workout more. Hence, this might reduce the health care spending. Physical activity is vital to prevent chronic diseases such as heart diseases, diabetes, and stroke that account for most of the healthcare expenditure. The appropriate sports area can reduce the sport injury because of the limited facilities. Besides, the tax is paid by the community every year. It should contributes for the people's wellness publicly not just one elite community that is limited for everyone. Consequently, this might improve people's life which eventually can boost economic growth due to the increasing productivity. In conclusion, while improving sports building for athletes in order to win high prizes is necessary, it is important to provide public sports facilities for long-term investment of national residents.