You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The research industry has advanced in the past decade and now we have cures for many diseases and disorders, that could not have been possible in the last century. Some people claim that it is bad to use animals for various scientific experiments and that human beings should stop abusing nature. Although I acknowledge the fact that sometimes it leads to animal cruelty, I believe that it is important to breed certain animals for experiments to reach a scientific breakthrough in a particular field. In the modern world, the current lifestyle of human beings is reported to be a cause of many new diseases, that if not cured, can cause epidemics and pandemics and wipe out a huge section of society. Due to this, many medicines and vaccines are being developed by scientists after long periods of extensive research. However, to check if they are safe for human consumption, they are tested on animals like rats or monkeys, whose genomes are similar to human beings. For example, the covid-19 vaccines were developed in a very short time as the disease was declared an international emergency. Since human testing is not allowed until it reaches a safe level, animals have to be used for the same. But at the same time, the government has to make sure that these studies are done legally as well as within ethical boundaries. Furthermore, there are a few alternatives to these procedures that help in reducing the abuse of animals. For instance, in some cases plants or algae can be used for some experiments, especially in the development of cosmetics. We see many vegan and cruelty-free products these days in the market. Yet, the scope of this testing is limited and sometimes impractical, especially in the development of life-saving drugs and medications. In conclusion, for human welfare and well-being, it is important to use animals in the studies, but people have to make sure it is done at a minimum level.