In schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

There is a gender-based separation in academic areas based on what subject they choose. This issue is probably due to some reasons, which I will delve into this essay and my opinion. The first and foremost reason why this tendency exists in an academic context is due to social expectations and gender stereotyping happening in our society. Women are encouraged to have more social abilities, such as emotional intelligence and communication, while men are forced to nurture their technical capabilities, such as science and technology. This is the main-rooting problem driving different options in school between males and females. For example, a girl is considered suitable to take social-related majors such as business, social science, art and language; meanwhile, technical-related majors, including technology, science, and maths, are viewed as the most appropriate for boys. Continuing this paradigm in education would lead to a detrimental effect which is why I believe this culture should be changed. First, young generations will have less variability in terms of choosing their career path. In more detail, women will only have the option to choose a social major. In contrast, men can always only choose a science major as a man interested in a social-related program is considered unnecessary, and they will be stereotyped as women-like. Meanwhile, there is no gap in human ability. For instance, from elementary to high school, I enjoyed a science -related subject, especially math. If I, as a female, were forced to have such a social major, it would lead to negative impacts, for instance, the inability to maximise my talent. In a nutshell, I suggest changing this pattern in education because this kind of separation would lead to various problems, such as the gender gap in the workplace.