Advances in health and biology and other areas of society in the last 100 years have transformed the way we live as well as postponing the day we die. There is no better time to be alive than now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Over the past century, human beings have evolved significantly in regard to science and technology and this has resulted in some drastic changes including the way we live now, including the joys of living a longer life. Hence, strongly agree with the question statement and there are a number of reasons why. Some might argue that in the past people used to live longer lives and were more healthy and happier. I believe there is not much available data or literature where we can make that scientific and logical comparison. However, I believe today, with the advancements in modern medicine, the community is not only being diagnosed with occult diseases much better, but with better in-hospital maternal and newborn care, maternal and child mortality rates have also greatly reduced. Moreover, many of the diseases which were previously not known to men are now being understood much better with the advent of newer laboratory techniques and equipment. Furthermore, we are also witnessing a lot of amazing techniques being developed in the field of surgery such as Heart, Bone marrow, eye and other vital organ transplants which previously people could only dream of. Not only this, but there are various new healthcare-related gadgets, which can come in the form of a wristwatch or any wearable device where the well-being of a person can be monitored remotely. For instance, there was a famous case in Russia where a physically incapacitated elderly person had a heart attack and his watch notified the emergency services immediately and was timely treated. Additionally, the fact that scientists now are working on clinical trials to increase the longevity of human beings, is another important landmark achievement for humankind which cannot be undermined. Consequently, from reduced child mortality rates to better geriatric care, we can confidently say we now live much longer than in the past era. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that inventions in modern society, which range from new literature to innovative laboratory and surgical techniques to astonishing gadgets, as a result of which, we have greatly reshaped the way we live and have also added to the life span of homosapiens. Many of our achievements previously could only be dreamt of.