In many countries students take a year off after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

It is generally trending in many nations that many students like to move away from educational institutions for a year upon completing the school curriculum and move further to university education. It is often noted that there are some benefits of taking time off which could help people to unwind from their class environment and ponder about future work field. However, several drawbacks of this trend also could not be ignored such as breaking the course chain and being afraid of not accepting the study gap by some universities. To begin, the advantages are that students can get some relief from the examination stress and roam around the globe to spend some memorable moments. In other words, it is often suggested that travelling helps people to get rid of anxiety and depression. Moreover, Students can deeply think and have an experience in the work field they are interested and can be helpful to choose the subject in the university accordingly. It is often pointed out that youngsters must select the field they want in future and better know the strengths and weaknesses of that field by working in that arena. However, Moving the disadvantage of this trend firstly could be the breaking of the study chain. Several studies attest to the fact that once the series of any work or class stops, it can be challenging to bring on that track again. Furthermore, it is generally believed that many educational institutions do not accept the course gap. For this reason, it could be difficult for the pupil to obtain admission to such a famous academy which could be considered a risk to their future life. In such cases, they might have to join some vocational institute and lose their higher education. In conclusion, Although many advantages can be advised by taking a year off prior to joining the university like refreshing the mindset and carefully deciding the carrier path, it is undeniable that disadvantages could have an adverse effect on the student life to step away from higher education by taking time off and may not accept be an educational institution.