Some people think the advantages of international tourism outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree?

The recent advancements in aviation and maritime travel technologies have enabled tourists around the globe to traverse long distances with relative ease, giving birth to the international travelling industry. Many people wholeheartedly support international tourism as it is generally perceived to be a net positive development for humanity. The following essay will present two reasons to corroborate this viewpoint. The advent of international tourism as an industry has, in most cases, made significant contributions to local communities. Since hordes of curious foreigners who flock to sightseeing hubs usually belong to the upper echelon of society, they typically spend substantial sums of money over the course of their stay. Unfamiliar with the local environments and people, they tend to overpay for their accommodation, food, and entertainment; consequently, they essentially make possible the formation of other industries, such as hospitality services, and hence create job opportunities. This increase in employment is good news for the isolated local communities, whose residents otherwise struggle with unemployment. Another major by-product of overseas tourism is the resulting cultural understanding and opportunity for populations to become even more intertwined. It is evident that the citizens of different nations are afforded a real chance to learn from one another because they can, nowadays, explore various exotic destinations; how else can one understand what the shamans in Peru think of the world or what historical and geographical factors have formed the Zen Buddhism in China? This unique opportunity for cultural exchanges is, in fact, one of the few means that can potentially aid people in finding a meaningful way of appreciating rather than detesting the cultural nuances that differentiate them. In conclusion, international tourism not only does contribute to the financial prosperity of communities around the globe but also may be a game changer in regard to the way populations interact with each other. It is, therefore, prudent to assume its merits, thus far, make its cons pale in comparison.