Air pollution has become serious in many metropolises. This creates detrimental effects on people and the country as a whole, but steps can be taken to tackle the problems.

Air pollution has become serious in many metropolises. This creates detrimental effects on people and the country as a whole, but steps can be taken to tackle the problems. The consequences of this pollution are many. Firstly, it directly affects the health of city dwellers, as the poor quality of air can cause chronic diseases as well as terminal illnesses like lung cancer or innate defects. Secondly, tourism is heavily impacted by this environmental phenomenon, as travellers are hesitant to choose those places as their holiday destinations. Finally, governments have to pour a large sum of money on environmental processing, and, this, therefore, depletes national resources. For example, Jarkata- the capital of Indonesia has suffered forest fires almost every year, and the government has to generate artificial rains to ease the smoke. However, I do believe that this environmental issue can be improved. Governments should move industrial zones out of the centre as manufacturing plants emit a huge volume of carbon dioxide into the air. In addition, the number of vehicles on the roads must be reduced, and this has happened, as motorbikes have been banned in some big towns like Shanghai or Taipei. In order to make this solution practical, governments should advance the quality of public transportation both in vehicle appearance and services to encourage citizens to use public means of transport. Last but not least, city councils have to work on public services such as drainage systems and wastewater treatment because they are also the factors that worsen the airspaces. In conclusion, the atmosphere in metropolitan areas will continuously be ruined unless industrial parks, vehicles and public services are taken into account by the nation.