The internet has changed they way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The internet has altered how people interact with each other, and the interaction nowadays is made through social platforms. While some individuals support this phenomenon and consider it will bring a positive effect, others believe otherwise. In my opinion, technological advancement in interaction must be used with responsibilities to give a beneficial result. The primary reason why social networking has been providing a good outcome to its users is that social media omit the borders of communication regarding distance and time. Moreover, with the presence of instant messaging, such as WhatsApp and Zoom, communication can be performed instantly and out of charge, changing the practice from using a Post Mail and paid telephone service to a free-of-charge calling service. For me, these two reasons are examples of how technology in conversation can bring a good effect on society. On the other hand, the social platform can provide an adverse impact on its consumers because of the limitation of censorship. Furthermore, less control from parents over their offspring on social media can bring a harmful impact. The content of social media is more likely to display the popular trends that happened in the present time due to its algorithm, which can exhibit violence and pornography to young people. Consequently, consuming pornographic content for a long time can damage brain cells and make addiction. From these points, irresponsibility acts on using online platforms can yield a negative impact. In conclusion, it is believed that the advancing communication mode can give both positive and negative impacts on its users, and therefore, I suggest using online networking wisely and responsibly.