In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

As technologies develop, they become intertwined with various aspects of our lives. One example of this is mobile banking systems that gradually replace traditional payment methods. While I admit that there are certain concerns associated with paying via mobile applications, I still think that it offers far more advantages to people. On the one hand, I can understand public concerns regarding this practice. For one, accessing mobile payment systems requires users’ personal information, and they fear that it can be stolen by or sold to third parties. One example of how this fear has already turned into reality is the growing number of scammers who call people pretending to be their bank’s representatives. Unsuspicious victims give away all their personal information that can be then used in illegal activities, causing the original victim to be linked to a crime that they did not commit. Another concern expressed by some people is that all their financial activity can be traced and controlled by the government. In their opinion, this violates their fundamental rights to privacy in personal matters and might even contribute to the establishment of a totalitarian regime in the long. These people fear that the world portrayed by dystopian novelists of the past will become our future, so they, understandably, still prefer to use traditional payment methods. However, I would argue that the benefits that this technology brings outweigh all its possible drawbacks. Firstly, paying via mobile apps is simply more convenient than using cash money or coins. Using these apps reduces the speed of financial operations as customers do not spend extra time counting the money and receiving the change. Transactions can also be made remotely now, meaning that customers do not need to visit stores in person. I believe that all these factors contribute to a much greater shopping experience. Secondly, people ’s financial security is also improving following the introduction and widespread availability of mobile payment systems. Unlike solid money, digital currency is harder to steal as personal bank accounts can be frozen on demand should any suspicious transaction be made. Stealing someone’s bank information is, in fact, not easy either because it is kept in safety under a wide range of encryption mechanisms. I admit that a lack of technical savviness can indeed lead ordinary people to lose large sums of money to scammers, but this is caused by their own carelessness and not by a flaw in the banking system. In conclusion, the development of mobile transactions can be associated with certain problems. Despite these, I strongly believe that these new payment methods are more advantageous as they improve the convenience and safety of financial operations.