In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that citizens live longer than ever before in industrialized nations. The growing population of elderly people would have detrimental impacts on citizens and society as a whole, and governments and societies should make much more effort to mitigate them. With the increasing ageing population, many problems can be anticipated. Firstly, the growing number of senior citizens would exert heavier pressure and burden on the following generations to take care of them. For example, many newly-married couples need to shoulder the responsibility to care for even up to 8 elderly relatives. Secondly, these adults ought to pay more taxes to cover the pension for these retired older workers. As a result, they would face a dilemma in which they have financial tension. What’s more, it is expected that society would step into a state in which it has a lower productivity and consumption desire, which will lead to depression economically. There are several approaches that governments can take to solve these problems mentioned above. The first approach focuses on improving healthcare conditions such as building more nursing homes for existing older people. For instance, the massive investment in the medical field in Japan effectively relieves the economic burdens on their youngsters. The second method intends to refine related laws and regulations in favour of encouraging a higher rate of birth among these married people. Lastly, authorities should make more propaganda and enhance the awareness to have a child. In conclusion, people ’s lives would be greatly impeded, and many actions should be taken along several fronts: through improved policies in favour of giving birth to more children, enhanced awareness to have a child and improved healthcare for existing elder people.