It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The possibility for scientists and tourists to be able to travel to remote natural environments has its pros and cons. Based on these, opinions could be made as to whether it is positive or negative development. The disadvantages attached to this are, foremost, the exposure of the natural environments to threatening circumstances such as increased pollution, poaching and damage to the surroundings for various reasons best suited to the visitors (scientists and tourists). There are examples all over the world where tourists litter the environment with substances that are non-biodegradable. They also directly and indirectly, destroy or enslave the wildlife in order to build infrastructures that benefit themselves. Scientists have been known to harm the environment in the name of science for various experiments. Their curiosity, if left unchecked, could lead them to even endanger the wildlife and the resources of the land. Finally, the issue of global warming which is generated by human intervention. The erection or building of structures which contribute to the effects of global warming could lead to some irreversible consequences such as the melting of the ice caps in the south poles. Direct contact with these sources of global warming could speed up the melting process thus resulting in catastrophic events such as floods and other natural disasters. Nonetheless, there are advantages to the presence of scientists and tourists. Their exposure to these remote natural environments would provide a better understanding of the need to help preserve the wildlife. There are many examples where scientists have been able to save endangered species. A well renowned one being the salvation of the Chinese pandas. Through cross-breeding, care, provision of medication and so on, good deeds could be done for such remote places. Tourists have also been known to adopt some of these animals thus providing the much- needed funds to preserve their species. Finally, the knowledge obtained from visiting such places would be very create an awareness for generations to come on the wonders of the world currently occupied by us In summary, it could be said that this recent development could either have a positive or negative effect on the long run, provided the reasons for such access.