Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycle are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transport such as buses, taxies and metro on vehicle-free day. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Pollution is increasing at the alarming rate and is becoming the global issue. The government is prohibiting the use of automobiles on certain days and is encouraging the use of public transport. The majority of folks support this idea due its number of merits while other focus on demerit points. To a large extent, I think there are more benefits than risks. And my preference is argued further. Initiating with the benefits the first and foremost one is city traffic will be under control. However, this will lower the accident rates. To cite an example, the Indian government is following this concept, due to which they have seen a tremendous improvement in the quality of air. Another benefit that can strike the mind of the people is the use of petrol, diesel will go down. Thus, saving our natural resources and following sustainable development. On the darkest side, there are several drawbacks. Firstly, during an, emergency it will be hard for an individual to reach the destination on time. Another drawback can be, there is chance that people might reach late to work or school by relying solely on public transport. For example, the bus drivers in TTC tells to take another bus as the current one is full. Last but not least, public safety might be at risk as hate crimes are increasing nowadays. To conclude, despite of some threats of using the city vehicle,it can be taken care of by close vigilance. So it can be said that definitely the pros outweigh the cons.