Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Extinction of certain plants and animal species is now a major issue of our time. It is argued that the worsening case of biodiversity must be the priority over any other environmental problems. In spite of that, I believe that climate change is more important because it has the greatest impact compared to other global issues. Climate change must be the top priority because it is the root cause of all the other global issues we are facing in today’s generation. The increasing temperature due to greenhouse gas emissions and the changing weather in different parts of the world is damaging food production, biodiversity, and human health. For instance, Filipinos experience higher temperatures in the last decade which leads to the rising use of air conditioning units, without that appliance people might suffer from heat stroke or heart attack. Another one is higher rainfall which causes catastrophic floods in plantations and the loss of lives. In those circumstances, I do think that climate change is the most significant matter that we must confront today. The loss of animals and other living organisms is one of the negative effects of climate change however, it must not be the sole reason. Human activities shall also hold accountable for the endangerment of biological diversity. Fortunately, laws and awareness campaigns have been created now to stop deforestation and other harmful activities. Since those have been made, people now are more concerned with endangered animals and species of other living organisms. However, I do not think that this matter should be set aside because biodiversity is still in danger. In conclusion, while addressing how to protect the lives of animals and other organisms, I believe that it is best to resolve first, climate change because it is the main cause of other global issues.