Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

Some people argue that in many countries, university students are no longer interested in taking up science. This essay will discuss the reasons why students do not choose science anymore and what will be the consequences of these to society. There are two reasons why college students do not choose science, low wages compared to other jobs and their aim of quick financial gain. In fact, the starting wage of a Science -related job is lower than a technology job. The youth nowadays, aim for high-paying jobs and to be able to start paying student loans. If they would take low-income work, it will take so long to pay their students loans and it will be difficult to establish their ideal quality of life. The aim to have quick financial gain is also another factor because of the information they have seen on social media platforms they think that taking Science is not a good choice. On the other hand, due to the choices of the students, society will suffer because of the low number of science graduates. Businesses and other companies needing these graduates will be in difficult positions. The employees will have to take up more work rather than being able to distribute the workloads. The mental and physical health of the workers will be affected and cause a tremendous amount of stress. In conclusion, the low-income work in the science job sector and the mindset to have a quick financial aim will decrease greatly the number of university students choosing science, which has a negative impact on society.