Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words

Nowadays, there is an interesting debate according to the negative effects that the internet could have on social interaction despite other advantages related to communication possibilities. I completely agree about the concern that humanity should have about these negative impacts caused by the time people allocate to the internet and the lack of knowledge by part of the population. It is well known that most people overuse the internet during their daily routines, misusing these electronic devices and decreasing other significant relationships. According to recent studies, some citizens use the internet for 3 to 8 hours daily. This overuse has a negative impact on social interaction due to all this time is not usually related to communication purposes. For example, it is common to see an entire bus looking at their phones and doing scroll on their screens without paying attention to their environment. Moreover, this misuse has a negative impact on their social interactions because they spend more time navigating the web and apps such as Instagram or Tik Tok rather than socialising with others face to face. Another compelling impact is the contemporary period where not all inhabitants are able to be updated about technologies. Due to this, some part of the population has seen their social interactions decrease as a result of their lack of internet skills. For instance, many elderly people have trouble contacting their young relatives via messages, because they do not know how to use them correctly. Moreover, these lacks of skills impact negatively on other contexts such as asking for medical appointments or planning meetings with their friends. To conclude, I believe that the overuse of the internet and the lack of knowledge in some parts of the population have negative impacts on social interactions, mostly on elderly people. If humanity becomes more conscious about the use of the internet, they could reduce it and try to communicate with others via face to face and spend more time together.