Question: In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

The number of avid readers and passionate viewers of crime or thriller genre books and TV series is rising exponentially in different countries. Goosebumps providing surprising twists and turns in the stories and incredibly eye dazzling audio-visual effects in the movies are playing the critical roles behind their recent unprecedented popularity. However, in my opinion, this development can benefit both individuals and society by raising the required awareness and boosting creativity. Criminal storybooks and detective TV series can effectively stimulate the audience’s curiosity. In fact, the way these productions proceed with unexpected events and unpredicted results is amazingly engaging and skin-drying. The criminal plots, for example, are set in such a captive style that can easily catch the audience's attention as they trigger their desire of solving the problems or unmasking the murderers. Additionally, by using extravagant special effects, TV thrillers are constantly mobilizing a sizable portion of the audience. This is how these platforms are giving users a completely different experience. However, in my opinion, crime fiction and films can also be rewarding for individuals, and beneficial for society. One upside is to raise awareness among the mass people regarding criminal activities. For instance, many government authorities produce criminal movies or documentaries to educate the public on how to identify frauds, tricks and other new types of complicated crimes. Another merit is that crime fictions contain multiple innovative storylines which in turn boost the readers’ creativity. Many great artists and inventors shared that their masterpieces were actually the brainchildren of multiple thriller series and crime fiction. In conclusion, crime novels and TV dramas are extremely popular as they attract the viewers’ attention through intriguing plots, problem-solving desires and special movie effects. Apart from the captivating characteristics, in terms of raising awareness and giving food for thought, crime fictions also have an incredible educational function for both individuals and societies.