Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, patriotism has a new-found meaning in the world and people have different ways express it such as chanting, hoisting a flag, or by art. The pros of a nation where the citizens are patriotic surpasses the nations with less nationalist's population. In this essay, I will outline why I believe being patriotic is advantageous and necessary from an individual and nation's viewpoint. The main reason why its beneficial to be country-loving is that it gives a sense of pride to citizen of that country. Therefore, encourages them to respect and follow the regulations set forth by the government. For instance, a territory where people are loyal, there is less probability of hate crimes and terrorist attacks. Another compelling is that the citizens will show gratitude towards the army, navy, and special forces. Hence, they will have a motive to give back to the nation rather than leaving and going abroad for better opportunities of education, employment etc. Morever, being patriotic is a quality that an individual acquire after years of learning and gaining wisdom, which in return provide him with a feeling of fulfilment and contentedness. To conclude, patriotism is a quality that everyone should strive to embed in themselves from a very young age to be able to be a better, country-loving citizen and overall development of their well-being