Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, the need for a healthcare facility is increasing sharply due to unhealthy lifestyles. In many countries, the healthcare sectors are managed by the government as well as private companies. It is totally agreed that hospitals managed by private companies are primarily focusing on money and should be prohibited but private health sectors have more benefits than drawbacks and this essay will discuss them. To begin with, one of the positive aspects of private healthcare is the waiting time. The hospitals and clinics are financially strong to hire many staffs and doctors therefore, a patient need not wait for a long time for consultation. For instance, in Singapore, to consult a doctor in a government-aided hospital requires an appointment to be booked at least twenty days prior but one can walk into a private hospital for consultations. Furthermore, these hospitals are equipped with modern technologies and diagnostic devices which help in easier diagnosis and treatment. In India, about 90% of the population prefers this health care to government hospitals as they provide better treatment. Thus, medical care run by the private has an upper hand in treating people. Despite the advantages, the expenses of treatment at privately owned hospitals are multiple times higher than the government-aided which makes it inaccessible to the poor and needy people. For instance, the cost of consultation at public healthcare is 10 times less than that of private aid in Singapore. Similarly, COVID vaccinations provided by the government in most countries were free of cost but the non-government sectors provided them at a high price. Though private health care provides better treatment compared to public health, it is not affordable to most people who are in need. To sum it up, it can be clearly concluded that the advantages of private hospitals providing higher standards and immediate treatment outweigh the disadvantages of highly-priced treatments.