Thanks to the development of technology, many employers are now offering employees the option to work from home. Is that a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Over recent years, it has become possible for various professions like teaching and IT to hire competent people to carry out their jobs remotely. The advancement in technology has proven to be beneficial to mankind in numerous ways. In this essay, I will outline the reasons behind this positive evolution. The main advantage of working remotely is a better work-life balance, allowing employees and employers to spend more time with their families at home and hence, improving their overall well-being. For instance, a 9-5 job worker will spend only 8 hours working rather than 10 hours as he will save the time it requires to commute back and forth to the office. Thus, it is a boon for individuals that live far away from the office or the people that spend hours stuck in the city traffic such as in Delhi or New York which are infamous for the poor management of road traffic. Another compelling reason would be that it is flexible to work from home for employers because they are able to have an overall outlook of the quality of work of all their employees without having the inconvenience of having to monitor them physically like in an office owing to the advancement in technological software. Meanwhile, the employees can concentrate better as there is a lot less distraction when working from an intimate environment like home. To conclude, remote work comes with a lot of benefits that outweigh its downsides. I strongly advocate that it should be encouraged and more and more employers should have this as an option while hiring as it is imperative to look out for the well-being of the community as a whole and reduce inconvenience whenever possible.