Today, many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

In the past, people were used to maintaining close contact with their neighbours, helping each other in need and celebrating festivals together. However, with the advancements in housing and the development of urbanised areas, the traditional values of the neighbourhood are fading away. There are a number of reasons for this trend and some measures can be taken to restore neighbourhood relationships. One of the most prominent reasons for weakening relationships between neighbours is the increased rate of changing residence among people. In the past, due to difficulties in transportation, people rarely switched their locations, favouring settling in one place for a good part of their lives. In contrast, modern means of transport such as trains, planes and private vehicles significantly facilitated traversing long distances, thus enabling families easily change their residence. The frequency by which people move out from their hometown is also affected by modern trends. Due to a wide range of work opportunities abroad, many individuals are also considering leaving their hometown. As a result of these trends, people rarely make close links with their neighbours, bearing in mind that these relationships may not last long. While this problem cannot be solved by imposing rules or by the intervention of high authorities, certain actions could be taken to strengthen the traditional values of the neighbourhood. For example, city councils may arrange various community facilities and festivals, which would bring neighbours together. On such occasions, people living close to each other could hang out and get to know each other better. To conclude, weakening contact between neighbours is one of the most challenging issues of today's society, yet the problem can be gradually mitigated by actively organising community events and propagating conventional values of the neighbourhood.