In the modern world there is a movement away from written exams to more practical assessments discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

As the world is progressing, education is also being diversified using various new ways of learning. As, it is often seen these days that the method of evaluation is changing from theoretical to practical system. This essay will talk about the different positive and negative impacts this system is bringing to our educational institutes and society. On one hand, this revolution in teaching and testing method is bringing numerous benefits. For instance, students no longer have to worry about cramming books, instead they can focus more on practical and advanced research. In other words, they can focus on improving their hands-on skills rather than memorising what's already been there in the textbooks for ages. Moreover, a doctor can focus more on perfecting the surgical sutures which are used now, than learning about what sutures were used a million years ago. On the other hand, it does bring some disadvantages as well. For example, if students are aware that they do not have to appear in any rigorous exams, they might neglect the theoretical aspect of that subject. As a result, they will not be able to produce the same practical results without having background textbook knowledge. Additionally, if written exams are completely omitted from the picture it is likely to substantiate the learning capabilities of students. In conclusion, practicals modernise the education system and increase the learning pace of people belonging to different professions, but by replacing it entirely, by omitting the written exams learning might not be as efficient and can leave room for deficiencies.