Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is this the case? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Many individuals use more informal and conversational language to write in this day and age. There are several reasons for this phenomenon and this trend brings more demerits than merits for users. There are some feasilbe reasons for this tendency. First and foremost, many vocabularies and structures are now more complex and confusing to learn, so many users choose to text their messages in a informal way. There are many words that are allocated more time to remember and write them by hand. Thus, they use informal ones to reduce their time and increase their writing speed, for example, the word "Food and Beverage" is usually written as "F&B". Secondly, many individuals use informal language to become more friendly and convenient when they have conversations with their peers and younger generations. Chatting in informal ways make them feel themselves more interesting and reliable due to the sociable personality they want to become. Moreover, they can widen their relation networks because of the comfortabe way they discuss with other that attract more people to have conversations. However, this trend could bring some negative aspects for users. There are some specific situations that require people to use formal language to write such as writing motivation letter and circumstance vitae. If they use informal language to write down these letters, they might be judged to be disrespectful or to lack of knowledge and be rejected immidiately by people at higher positions. Another drawback would be to become rude when talking with older generations. Because of using language in a relaxed way, many individuals forget to show their respect and overlook the well-being behaviour while they are communicating with the elderly, which leads to the low judgements from older people. In conclusion, because of the difficulty in learning new vocabulary and showing friendly characteristics to the young, many people use written language in a informal way. As a result, these disadvantages of this trend such as the lack of using formal language in several situations and disrespect older people outweigh advantages this tendency brings.