Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that students should commence additional language acquisition from an elementary school, not a high school. Studying from an early age assists in enhancing cognitive development and better pronunciation, however, students may face difficulties with balancing multiple subjects, and it might put a strain on the child, despite this fact the advantages far outweigh the drawbacks. One of the main positive aspects of learning a second language is that students have an opportunity for versatile development. Most children have a remarkable memory, so they can effortlessly learn new language, furthermore early acquisition of language is efficient for brain development, cognitive skills, and overall academic performance. To take one example, students who have acquired 2-3 languages from a young age are well in STEM subjects at high school. Another advantage is that early exposure to a foreign language alleviates the process, where they can make success and achieve proficiency. Moreover, students have ample time to practice language and acquire more knowledge, better pronunciation. For instance, according to Kazakhstan National research, 60% of students who had learned language from a young age can speak fluently in 2 or more languages. Conversely, one of the main drawbacks of language introduction at the primary school is that students may struggle with keeping balance between different subjects. Although the fact they have a great memory, at school there are considerably a lot of other major subjects, therefore youngsters may face problems with prioritizing and allocating time wisely. To exemplify, education system of United Kingdom does not include learning second language as an essential subject to the primary school study plan. Additionally, another disadvantage is that students may be exposed to burnout because they are under pressure during school time. Most students suffer from the stress, that is caused by assignments and deadlines, and consequently, it will lead to burnout and deprivation of motivation. In conclusion,the advantages of early acquisition of language outweigh the disadvantages, despite the fact that it may lead to problems with balancing and burnout, learning is beneficial to the versatile development of the child from an early age.