The practice of illegally hunting wild animals continues to cause concern in many countries, particularly developing countries. What are the causes of such hunting?

In past decades, illegal hunting of wild animals had become a common practice and continued regardless of implemented restrictions that raise concerns in some countries. The reasons why this act is done are purely for pleasure and status symbols. As a result, it leads to a significant decrease in its number in the wild and the extinction of species. In the beginning, the major reason why creature hunters hunt animals illegally in the wild is for their self-satisfaction. Some people find their own happiness and self-gratification by catching them with bare hands. To illustrate, residents in the suburbs and countryside feel that meat and fish selections sold in local markets do not satisfy their requirements, so they choose to catch fish, and shrimp in rivers, and fields by themselves to cook in meals. In addition, money is another cause why people are motivated to kill and hunt creatures since the price for each rare species is quite expensive for all collectors. Lastly, preserved wild animal parts, clothing or accessories as collections can boost the customers’ status in society as this would depict power, wealth and dominance. For instance, the heads or fur of foxes that numerous wealthy individuals would pay as much merely to have them for decoration or garment intention. On the other hand, continuous practice could be detrimental to the species and environment. A non-stop killing and body parts harvesting for pleasure and businesses could lead to extinction. This fact would imbalance the natural habitat and co-existence of animals in the wild. Furthermore, the process is debilitating in our ecosystem as this alters the balance, there would be a vast number of prey. For example, hyenas lurk around killing smaller species due to a lack of predators such as lions. In addition, overconsumption of creatures by humans destroys other things such as plants, trees and leaves an enormous footprint of carbon dioxide which is harmful to the environment. In conclusion, it is certain that illegal hunting of wild animals will continue, however, it could be prevented if hunters will be strongly banned and prohibited from doing that. Thus, the alarming effect will not limit to a number of particular countries but globally if there is an imbalance in our nature. Due to that reason, the government plays a vital role in preserving the number of creatures in the wild by creating policies and initiatives that prevent hunting from their current practice.