Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

The majority of people are debating about public library functions which are expected to have printout books only instead of spending more money on upgrading advanced technologies like computers and recorded sources. This writing will discuss that despite an enormous amount of money spent on buying high-tech media, I believe that the advantages far outweigh the drawbacks. It is undeniable that the most up-to-date gadget cost an arm and a leg which forces libraries to save up more in order to afford one software. This makes the public feel that the outgoings should be used to buy more books instead of focusing on expensive media. For example, licensed experimental videos can only be viewed by wealthy people or scientists due to their high price resulting in only a few people can learn about them because of the lack of money. However, if libraries were able to accommodate learners by having such technologies, more could study better and utilise them efficiently. On the other hand, having media to surf the internet will provide various types of information which can be very helpful for students or workers who use them to gain more knowledge. Although some are not cheap, they can be lifetime products that can be used daily so they are highly recommended for libraries to own them. For instance, some individuals prefer to study from computer-based learning than books since they can simply search for what they want to read and get the idea with just one click. Therefore, people will feel more convenient using libraries which have updated software because they serve information more quickly. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the statement that forces libraries to only spend their money on books since they can help people look for data or experiments more easily and efficiently. Even though they are expensive, they are worth buying in order to upgrade the quality of libraries and they can be used in the long term.