There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because the computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Technology has become commonplace in many developing countries due to the fact that it is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. While there are benefits for employees and students when they work and study from home, I personally think it also has some limited points for use. On the one hand, computer technology provides some advantages to workers and students when they are at home. First of all, working and studying from home through the Internet facilitates people’s connection. In other words, they can communicate and exchange their ideas without being in the company or at school. As a result, staff can make a report and send it to their Boss on time. Also, colleagues can bounce their ideas off problems via Zoom and answer emails with just one click. Besides, students can study online through google meet to gain their knowledge. Secondly, when workers and students stay at home, they save much of their time for travel which makes their jobs effective. Instead of spending an hour moving from home, they take advantage of that for recharging their energy or learning more. For example, staff can relax at home by doing nothing. Students have time to prepare their lessons carefully before class. On the other hand, computer technology also has some disadvantages to learning and working from home. It is inevitable to stay away from distractions from entertainment. When using applications such as Zoom or Google Meet for learning and working, students and employees are bothered by a huge message from their friends and entertainment which interrupts the meetings. That leads to less concentration on their tasks. Therefore, it reduces the results of work. Moreover, students and staff feel uncomfortable if they spend too much time on computers. It means that their eyes may hurt or seriously causes eye nearsighted. In addition, they have fewer opportunities to socialize which make them isolated. In conclusion, both students and employees can take benefits from using computer technology when they are at home. However, they also bear a couple of outcomes from that which may affect directly their physical health and mental health if they must use it for a long time.