The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only langusge to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Tourism growth has helped English to become the most famous language worldwide. Individuals suggests that English will become the only spoken language internationally. In this essay, I would be discussing the advantages and disadvantages of speaking one language worldwide. The advantages of having one language globally is that it has helps to promotes international trade. This is because people will be able to import and export goods and services from one country to another without having any difficulties in speaking English language. For example, individuals now trade different commodities like television sets, clothes, machinery, food and raw materials. As a result, it gives the avenue to strengthen the relations between countries. There is no doubt that speaking one language globally has help to expand the trade for products and services. However, the negative effects of speaking only English in the world has now been a threat for some people. Firstly, it will cause language extinction among people in the country. In addition, it is harmful because people tends to lose their cultures and knowledge with each lost language worldwide. Individuals have difficulty in understanding their environment, different subjects around them and human cognition. It can also leads to the loosing of cultural identities. As a result, the loss of cultural practices can result to reduced social cohesion because an individual’s culture is closely connected to their sense of identity. So it is important to preserve endangered languages. In conclusion, although the growth of tourism has helped English to become the most important language in the world. I would suggest that people should be given equal opportunities to speak the language of their choice in order avoid discrimination amongst and prevent conflict amongst people of the country.