Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is acknowledgeable that many countries are in a state of penury, hence the developed are insistent on helping them by providing financial aid, but doing so does not help poverty. Therefore, the rich nations should look for an alternative method to help the poor apart from money. I strongly agree with this statement because compensating with cash can be more costly and can backfire in numerous ways. Firstly, poor countries should be given other forms of assistance rather than cash as the latter is sometimes more expensive. Poverty can lead to many detrimental factors like homelessness and starvation. While financial aid may help in some way, many developing nations simply lack the manpower and resources to solve the issue. As a result, the developed should look for better resolves such as sending their own workers to increase the quality of the labour force or donating resources like food. For example, penurious Middle Eastern communities are renowned for their vast land of barren deserts and sparse populations. Consequently, the wealthy countries have sent their own helpers to construct houses and donate food, rather than supplying with money. Secondly, post-industrial countries should not rely on funding as a primary form of assistance because it can have a serious harmful impact on them. First and foremost, the main culprit to underdevelopment is inequity. Some societies are known to be corrupt, and unjust, and where they only favour those in the governmental hierarchy. As a consequence, by compensating poverty with funds, the money would only go to waste as it would not be used to help the impoverished citizens but would only benefit the higher-ups. For instance, many countries in Africa are known to be extremely poor by their constant political corruption and guerilla warfare. In conclusion, whilst money-related charities are often given to poor countries by developed and are deemed to be helpful. Personally, I believe that this is not the case as it leads to problems such as its cost-effectiveness and disadvantages.