Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that more and more children have become addicted to smartphones. There are a range of factors that lead to this phenomenon, and in my opinion, this is totally a bad sign. There is a number of reasons for this. Firstly, this is the era of technology and kids are exposed to technological devices from birth, so they become accustomed to playing with a smartphone at a very young age. For example, a lot of adults use smartphones to calm babies when they are crying or attract their attention when feeding. Secondly, today’s mothers and fathers are too busy to interact with their offspring, and they, therefore, see this equipment as a saviour to keep their kids occupied. Finally, there are so many enthralling and exciting programs on phones such as youtube or video games, and with the nature of less self-control, young people are hard to put their phones down. I do believe this has detrimental effects on children. Sticking to phones leads them to a sedentary lifestyle which is one of the precursors of serious health problems. For example, lacking outdoor activities and connection with peers are factors that cause obesity and depression. In addition, a lot of information on the internet is not censored, children, therefore, are easily influenced by improper content such as offensive, violent, and sexual video games, and this may form the wrong perspectives and behaviours in their lives. Furthermore, by pouring time into this bad habit, pupils do not have enough time for homework and will go behind in their studies, and thus their future suffers. In conclusion, the character of the technological day, parents are program makers are responsible for smartphone abuse on kids, and this affects their health physically and mentally and their prospect lives.