The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweigh is increasing. What are the reasons for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

There is a significant increase in overweight people all over the world. Various severe illnesses threaten the overweight people, such as diabetes, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, heart failure and many others. This phenomenon is in line with the change of human lifestyle in this century. More people reduce their physical activities due to high technology of transportation and communications. Furthermore, various kinds of fast foods and instant drinks with delicious tastes are attracting people to replace their healthy food with those. The accumulation of these changes in people's lifestyles progressively increases the overweight proportions in our population. On the other hand, we can face this problem by changing our lifestyle. To support these statements, I will elaborate on them in this essay. First, Nowaday, fewer physical activities in most people are a phenomenon. These are the results of advanced transportation and communication. For example, In Indonesia, there are a lot of people who choose to drive by their own car or motorcycle rather than walking. A cheap motorcycle or an affordable car may be the main reason. Thus, only a few people go to other places for walking or cycling. Smartphone addiction also makes people to be more lazy. They only focus on their smartphone, either scrolling social media or watching movies or YouTube, rather than doing some homework. As a result, fewer activities lead to the risk of being overweight. Second, there are various kinds of fast food and high-sugar drinks with delicious tastes. For instance, there are burgers, pizza, potato chips, fried chicken, boba tea, coffee, etc. Evenly, consuming this kind of food and drink become a trend among people of all ages. In addition, we are attracted by the unique and interesting advertisements, we can even find them in anywhere. Therefore, we can not run to avoid them. The accumulation of consuming these foods will lead to overweight. However, the only solution to solve this condition is to build a deep awareness to be healthy and to live as long as we can. We can boost our physical activities by registering to the gym or simply walking 30 minutes a day. Furthermore, we build a commitment to ourselves to replace junk food with healthy foods. As well as, replacing the high sugar drinks with a sufficient amount of water. At least we have to drink 2 litres of water a day. As long as, we are committed to changing our lifestyle, well-being and enjoyment will come to us. In conclusion, building new habits in our population is important to face the severe illness that is initiated by being overweight. we need our commitment to increase our physical activities, eat more healthy food, and also drink a lot of water.