Smoking is major cause of serious illnese and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, government should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

There are widely different attitudes on the issue of whether tobacco should be banned or not. The majority of people would propose that it is their right to smoke and that prohibiting cigarettes would be a violation of their civil liberties: However, my personal view is that tobacco should indeed be made illegal. There are two principal responses. One point that I believe to be particularly pivotal is that tobacco is a drug. The majority of governments whole the world take a prohibitionist approach to the dilemma of substance abuse. For example, in many societies like Iran, poverty strongly influences people's lives and that leads them to sell cigarettes and other tobacco products to make ends meet, If the governments wish to be consistent in pursuing their purpose of limiting tobacco, therefore, it could be best to suggest that tobacco products should be banned altogether by land decent jobs which people can have income. It is particularly so given the fact that many such illicit drugs including heroin and marijuana have a legitimate medical application, while tobacco has none.There is a bit of hope that societies have a big perception that tobacco has only harmful consumptions for their bodies. However, perhaps the strongest argument in favour of banning tobacco is the fact of public health. It is an irrefutable fact that smoking leads to lung cancer and other potentially fatal diseases. For example, when someone smokes cigarettes, he does not know what could happen to his body in future, thus, society has the burden to enthusiasm together to avoid consuming tobacco. Pro-smoking groups would no doubt have complained that each individual has a right to determine what is going into his body. Nevertheless, the interests and rights of societies at large must override these individuals. The medical treatments that smokers require often incredibly cost a fortune, and it is frequently the governments and societies that support these costs rather than the individuals. Eventually, the governments must cover these costs through social insurance and advise societies to avoid smoking and its consequences. consequently, in reality, limiting of consumption of smoking is unlikely in the near future, but, given the seriousness of the hitches which could be run by governments banning companies that produce tobacco products can be the best way to have a healthy community. Thus, this dilemma can be taken as the primary target.