Many people nowadays travel abroad for their university education. Why do people do this? Would you consider doing this yourself?

The world has become flat, and so does education. While studying abroad has some good points, I do not think of it at any time in my life. There is a variety of reasons why more and more students study higher education in a foreign country. Firstly, developed nations have advanced curricula, teaching equipment and methods, and studying in those countries can consolidate and enhance students’ knowledge. Secondly, becoming a global citizen has become a trend among young adults nowadays, and studying away from their home countries is a good way to learn new languages, and new cultures and experience new things to meet the prerequisites of this trend. Finally, many people study overseas for immigration purposes, as many parts of the world have immigration programs to attract talented international students. For example, Canada has express entry and provincial nominee programs for international post-graduates to apply for permanent residence. However, this is not my consideration. My family is not financially affluent, but studying overseas costs a fortune as besides tuition fees, we have to pay for huge living expenses. In addition, I cannot live without my loved ones, and leaving them may make me feel lonely, stressed and depressed. More importantly, a foreign syllabus may not be adaptable in the work market in my country because the curriculum of a nation is more or less based on its own contexts. For example, I cannot use exactly the business-based knowledge I gain in the USA to apply to Canada's trading market. In conclusion, I can understand why a number of people choose to study in other territories but I do not think it is desirable in my case.