some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that advertising can promote the popularity of products and services. While some people say that this practice is capable of persuading buying decisions, others argue that once advertising is considerably common, customers do not pay attention to it any longer. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain my support for the former statement. On the one hand, we cannot ignore that advertising has been part of people’s lives for decades. This is because companies have found this practice an easy way to quickly reach their audience‘s attention on a large scale. For instance, in the past advertising used to extensively appear in newspapers and during breaks from TV shows, which were in the routines of a significant portion of the population. Consequently, advertising became so common that many families started to avoid them, changing channels during TV show breaks or not reading the advertisement pages in the newspapers. For example, important research released in the 90s pointed out that 85% of the advertising materials launched in that decade were not effective. On the other hand, it seems that the persuading function of advertising has recently experienced considerable growth. This is because, in recent times advertising appears on the Internet, which is highly used by modern society. Additionally, marketing agencies have developed new strategies to improve the persuading rates of their materials. For example, new campaigns have now been transferred to social media, which is widely accessed worldwide, resulting that people have been bombarded by advertising every minute while online. As a result, the impact of these advertisements on individuals’ lives has increased. In conclusion, even though advertising practices had become extremely common and underrated in the past, the Internet modernized how it reaches the audience‘s attention. Considering this recent scenario, I personally agree that advertising is still extremely successful at persuading us to buy things.