In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centre or malls to do their shopping Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly common for people to shop in centres or malls. However, this trend makes small local shops have closed because of the decrease in people opting to shop in local shops. In my view, this should be perceived as a negative trend for 2 main reasons. The first reason why closing a small local market is a negative development is the impact on people's income. It is believed that people from the lower class tend to open small businesses such as small local markets. By closing small local markets, lower-class people can lose their jobs. For instance, local people have to find other jobs to fulfil their needs. As a result, citizens will have problems with their financial stability. The following reason is it will be hard to find cheaper goods. Shopping in the small local market offers people more affordable prices. In contrast, by shopping in large shopping centres or malls, citizens have to pay more. It will affect the lower class's ability to buy their needs. For illustration, citizens will feel hard to find cheaper things. It makes them have no choice and must pay for the things. Consequently, the economic rate of the country will decrease year by year. To sum up, an increasing number of people are choosing to buy goods in a shopping centre or mall. It impacts society in many ways such as people's income and hard-to-find cheaper things. I am firmly convinced that this trend brings negative developments in society. So, that is why the government should pay attention to small businesses such as small local shops.