People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

There are those who think that increasing the price of petrol for vehicles would be a resolvement of environmental issues. In my opinion, I partially disagree with this view, and the reason will be elaborated in the enlisted paragraphs. Firstly, let us look at the advantages of this change. If the cost of fuel for cars increases, people who always use vehicles would hesitate to ride on these. This is because they have to spend more money on cars than in the past, and they would alter from cars to local transport systems. For instance, there was a considerable rise in the price of gasoline between 2020 and 2022, and it produced an increase in train users. Thus, if the price of fuel goes up, it would lose the users of vehicles. Subsequently, it would have positive effects on the environment. On the other hand, There are a lot of fumes or fossil fuels that are consumed to generate electricity or energy. In addition, the proportion of these is more higher than the percentage of the fuel that is used for cars. According to research done in 2018, in Japan, 80% of gasoline was utilized for making electricity, whereas the proportion of gasoline for vehicles is 10%. Furthermore, if the cost rises, individuals change to electric vehicles, and it would make more demand for electricity. Hence, although it would lose the number of car users, it would be meaningless development. In conclusion, though there are some positive influences on climate change, this alteration has a likelihood to produce more adverse impacts on nature. Therefore, I subtly disagree with this statement.