Some people believe that the government should spend more money in more works of art like painting and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extant do you agree or disagree.

In order to make the city a better place for citizens to live in, some people suppose that governments should invest more in the field of artwork. Although works of art can help people better enjoy their lives, I believe some other sectors are more important and should be given priority. It is undeniable that attractive fine artworks can brighten up the lives of those who live in concrete jungles or suffer from the hustle and bustle of lifestyles. The paintings and sculptures can become talking points and provide venues for people to let off steam and unwind properly in their spare time. In this case, people can see paintings and posters literally everywhere along the streets, which can be relaxing and also beautifying the city. Despite this, increasing the increase of budget on painting can be impractical as it will jostle the money which should have been spent on more important fields such as education and medication. Without money being spent on these sectors, breaking the poverty and unemployment cycles can become increasingly hard for those coming from less well-off backgrounds, especially in some developed countries. Even worse, this can impede social development as the government should spend more on the subsidy and public welfare for those unemployed and suffering from financial difficulties. What is more, people may also find it hard to truly understand the abstract meaning and background behind those objects. Therefore, it can be meaningless and unnecessary to spend much on those stuff as it is unrealistic to make the city a better place for people to live in by exclusively increasing the expenditure. In conclusion, I concede that artwork can decorate people ’s daily lives. However, I believe that the investment in this should be capped at a certain level and never be at the cost of reducing budgets for education and medical care.