Many students now work whilst they are studying in college or university. This often results in them having less time to concentrate on their studies as well as feeling under pressure. What are some of the causes of this? What solutions could you suggest.

It is prevalent for undergraduates to allocate their time to both working and studying. However, this hectic schedule may easily increase their academic burden and stress levels. In this essay, I will explain the reasons behind this and give some suggestions. Students who have multiple identities are more likely to be burdened due to a few causes. First and foremost, the working schedule is usually inflexible and does not perfectly match the school timetable so students will have insufficient time for doing both of them. For example, if an individual has a part- time job in a convenience store, he or she has to study during the daytime, followed by working overnight. Apart from it, allocating less time to revision will delay pupils’ learning progress as they do not have enough time to complete pre-lesson and post-lesson preparation. Lastly, sleep deprivation also causes a negative impact on their health, which may severely affect their emotions. As a result, not only will they feel perplexed about their academic results, but they also fail to establish well-being. In order to address this problem, a few actions can be taken. It is advisable for undergraduates to understand their ability of multitasking clearly. If the school assignments and work tasks are not manageable for students, it is better to quit one of them and put more effort into the remaining. Moreover, it is suggested to seek a part- time job, which is less demanding. Illustrative examples are jobs that can work remotely and have weekend shifts so it is easier to organise the timetable. To sum up, scholars, as known as an employee, may suffer from insurmountable pressure because of lacking time but there are still some recommended ways for them to improve this issue. Also, I think that it mainly depends on how well their time management skills are.