In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problem as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, more and more people around the world eating too much fast food and as a result leading to many health problems. However, I do not agree that the government should add more tax on such food. There are several reasons why the government should not increase a tax on fast food. First, people had a right to choose what they like to eat and they should be responsible for their own health, and should acknowledge what is the adverse effect of overeating fast food. Second, the price of fast food is relatively cheap than healthy food, the manufacturers will set a higher price and pass on the increase in costs to the customers if the government impose more tax on it, and it is not fair to those lower income group of people, limiting their choices of food. I believe that eating too much fast food is not the only reason of resulting health problems. People with bad living habits such as smoking and too much alcohol in their daily life will also have a greater chance leading to health problems. Besides, citizens should have a balance diet and do more regular exercises to get away from health problem. For example, people should have more vegetables and fruits in everyday diet and have a control of eating too much fast food. Furthermore, the government should do more promotions on healthy food especially introduce vegetarian food which is good for health and organize some health seminars teaching people what is the disadvantages of too much fast food. In conclusion, the government impose a higher tax on fast food is not the only solution to prevent people suffering from health problems, and balance diet and take exercise are the keys to get away from it.