Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. So then it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is the case that some people fail to see any relevance to their own lives in the news they see on TV or read in newspapers. I strongly disagree with this view and will give some reasons below. On the one hand, there are some people who think that their individual lives have been unaffected by events that have taken place in the world. This may be true if they consider only such new items as the lives of celebrities, the results of football matches, or the latest fashions. They argue that it does not mean they set their lives behind the times. They also say that are able to hear about local events through their colleagues or neighbors which may have a bearing on their own lives. Therefore, life for them can continue perfectly normally without TV or press news. On the other hand, this view is dangerously misguided for several reasons. Firstly, it is vital for people to see the big picture of international and national events as relevant to each individual. For example, the new media may carry a story about climate change or very recently the breaking news of a deadly virus that may affect every person on the planet. Secondly, the financial and business sections of newspapers may carry important information on economic matters which influence the lives of everyone. For example, thanks to watching TV, some months ago Vietnamese people knew about the increasing prices of petrol which they may manage to refill the gasoline for their motorbikes or cars at a suitable time. In conclusion, although much news is trivial, I completely disagree that it is a waste of time to see news on TV or in newspapers.