Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others argue that the circumstances and motivation of each crime should always be considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The increase in crime rate nowadays has brought about controversy if the severity of the crime committed should determine the penalty given regardless of the circumstances surrounding each sin. There are valid points to both views, however, I am of the opinion that offenders' situations should be considered when issuing punishment. On the one hand, most of the individuals involved in violent exercise may have family backgrounds and upbringings that did not give room to inculcate values of behaviour and codes of conduct. Probably, some grew up with families, foster parents and guardians who are dual-income, they have no or limited time to give ground rules making the young ones not to be well brought-up. As they age older, they become influenced by peers and they involve in offences such as truancy, delinquency, robbery, and kidnapping amongst others. Also, poverty might be another factor to be considered before convicting an individual. Underdeveloped countries like Niger have a higher population of people in the lower class who cannot afford three meals per day. So, most of them have no option but to involve in pick-pocketing and stealing petty things that can give them their basic needs like food, water, clothing and shelter. Conversely, those who argue that fixed judgement should be available for each type of lawlessness point out that some criminal acts like killing and bank robbery can only be done by hard-hearted individuals whose actions are fueled by greediness. To add to this, it is said that most criminals are ex-convicts who have spent some time in jail or prison because of the minor punishment measured for them. According to a study on Kikikiri prisoners in Northern Nigeria, it is concluded that 80% of prisoners have been arrested a couple of times because they were given short terms in prison for a crime that should be punishable by death or life imprisonment. This makes them not have a change of heart despite rehabilitation after leaving the cell. In conclusion, admittedly, giving fines or short-term imprisonment for severe offences has led to increased evil activity in society. However, some lawbreakers are not intentional about acting against the law, they are driven by some forces like poverty and poor upbringing. Therefore, situations surrounding these actions should be considered in court.